Peanut Butter Greek Yogurt Popsicles

In the past year I’ve really become a fan of Greek yogurt. It’s a great substitute for several different ingredients, giving a nice creamy texture and taste while still being relatively healthy. Plan Greek yogurt in particular is very versatile: I’ve used it in place of heavy cream for Alfredo and also in the place of butter for baked goods like pound cake. I found this recipe on Heart Mind and Seoul and started making it as a quick dessert for myself at school, but once the temperature heated up when I was home I realized they would make really good, creamy popsicles.

Peanut Butter Greek Yogurt Popsicles | 2 Cats & A Coffee

I’ve modified the recipe a bit to suit my tastes (basically… more peanut butter! As well as the addition of brown sugar) and I encourage you to play around with it as well to suit what you like best. The original describes it as being similar to peanut butter cookie dough, I’m not sure I agree with that assessment, to me it’s more akin to a peanut butter pie filling.

If you haven’t ever eaten Greek yogurt be aware that the plain variety can be very tangy, especially if you’re used to regular flavored and sweetened yogurt. Feel free to start with vanilla flavored Greek yogurt if you need to ease yourself in, but I do think it’s best with plain to let the peanut butter and brown sugar flavors come through.

Peanut Butter Greek Yogurt Popsicles | 2 Cats & A Coffee

I use small paper dixie cups to make these, and the portion size is just right. Greek yogurt has a lot of protein and is very filling, so I find a small pop is just enough for a light dessert – or even breakfast!

Peanut Butter Greek Yogurt Popsicles

You’ll Need:
1 cup 2% plain greek yogurt
3-4 heaping tablespoons of peanut butter
2 heaping tablespoons of maple syrup
2 tablespoons brown sugar
Small paper cups
Wooden popsicle sticksIt mixing bowl, combine all ingredients. Spoon into small paper cups until about 3/4 full. Insert popsicle stick in center, and place in freezer for about 2 hours or until frozen. To eat, make a small cut in the lip of the paper cup and gently tear away.

*this recipe will yield a small batch of popsicles (between 4-6); if you’re feeding a crowd or really like them, go ahead and double it.

Peanut Butter Greek Yogurt Popsicles | 2 Cats & A Coffee

Leave a comment