Dirt Cake

If I told you that one of my favorite desserts growing up was Dirt Cake, you might think that I was the type of kid who… well… ate dirt. But I promise you, Dirt Cake is a dessert that kids and adults alike enjoy!

Layers of cool, creamy pudding, cream cheese, and cool whip with crunchy, chocolaty cookies make up this simple yet satisfying dessert.

As an aside… these might just be some of my favorite photos so far. We had picked up sparklers for the 4th, and I realized that this was the perfect time to use them as props. A big thank you to my wonderful husband for being the pyrotechnic manager :)

More photos + recipe below!

Dirt Cake recipe from 2 Cats & A Coffee

This is a recipe that can be lightened up by using reduced fat cream cheese, skim milk, and fat free cool whip. But it truly shines when you go “whole hog” and use full fat ingredients. My philosophy is that desserts like this are a special treat, not something you make all the time, so I prefer to use full fat ingredients and get the really rich, creamy taste. Life is short, treat yourself!

This is a super easy dessert to pull together, and can be served as a big trifle or put together in individual servings like how I’ve shown it here in a mason jar. For super easy clean up, serve in solo cups with plastic spoons. Simple and easy!

Dirt Cake recipe and photos via 2 Cats & A Coffee

I opt to make mine without the traditional gummy worms, because I’m not a big fan of candy. However, the gummy worms can be a big crowd pleaser, so try it out! You can also garnish with silk/plastic flowers, or even real edible flowers if you want something a little more grown up. If you’re feeling very adventurous, maybe even some real chocolate covered insects…!

Traditionally, Dirt Cake usually calls for Oreos, however when I was grocery shopping I found myself in the cookie aisle staring down a package of chocolate fudge creme filled chocolate cookies – pretty much a generic brand Oreo with chocolate filling instead of the white frosting. Instinct told me to go for the chocolate, and I think I’m hooked. Also buying generic meant I spent less money but got a much bigger package of cookies… win-win!

Dirt Cake recipe and photos via 2 Cats & A Coffee

Dirt Cake

You’ll need:
1lb 6oz bag chocolate creme filled cookies, or Oreos
8 oz cream cheese, softened
1 cup powdered (confectioner) sugar
1/2 stick salted butter, softened
Two 3.4oz boxes Instant Vanilla Pudding
3 1/2 cups whole milk
One 12oz tub cool whip, thawed

Using a food processor or large plastic bag and rolling pin, crush cookies.
In stand mixer: mix milk and pudding mixture for approximately 2 minutes. Transfer to another bowl to set for 5 minutes.
In stand mixer: cream sugar, butter and cream cheese. Combine pudding and cream cheese mixture. Fold in cool whip.
To assemble, sprinkle layer of crushed cookies in bottom of container. Cover with 1 inch thick layer of filling, repeat until container is full.
Garnish if desired.

*I recommend making the filling several hours and up to one day before you intend to serve. The ingredients benefit from time to chill, much the same as a cheesecake.

Dirt Cake recipe and photos via 2 Cats & A Coffee

 

Dirt Cake recipe+photos via 2 Cats & A Coffee

3 thoughts on “Dirt Cake

    • I -adored- this dessert as a kid, and love it just as much now as an adult! Maybe even more-so now that I can make it myself and realize how easy it is :)

      Like

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! Here’s my top 5 recipes from 2015 | 2 Cats & A Coffee

Leave a comment